Underage DUI Laws in Nevada: Consequences and Penalties


The legal drinking age in Nevada is 21, and anyone under 21 who drinks is technically in violation of the law. However, there are some exceptions to that rule. That being said, even given the exceptions, underage DUIs are responsible for a large majority of the alcohol-related accidents in Nevada. For this reason, strict underage DUI laws in Nevada can mean stiff consequences and penalties for those who violate those laws. Here’s the least you need to know about underage DUI laws in Nevada.

Underage Drinking and the Exceptions

As previously mentioned, anyone who is under 21 years of age and consumes alcohol is technically considered to be in violation of the law. However, the law has created some exceptions to this rule, as well. If you’re under 21, you can drink in the following situations:

●     on a premise that doesn’t sell alcohol with the consent of a legal guardian so long as the premise is private

●     on a premise that doesn’t sell alcohol without consent so long as the premise is private

○     Laws disagree as to whether adults can furnish alcohol, so be sure to check.

●     for religious purposes

●     for medical purposes under the care of a licensed physician

Underage Drinking and Driving

Underage drivers who are under the influence of drugs or alcohol cause far more alcohol-related accidents in Nevada than those who are of legal age. For this reason, underage DUI laws in Nevada are harsher than those imposed on individuals who are 21 or over. For instance, the legal limit for those who are 21 and older is .08 percent blood alcohol content (BAC). However, if you’re under 21 you can be charged with a DUI for a BA as low as .02 percent. The penalties can be quite serious.

Underage DUI – First Offense

If you’ve never been pulled over for an underage DUI before, your first offense can still carry stiff penalties. First, you’ll be required to submit to a substance abuse evaluation to see whether or not you have alcohol abuse problems. Aside from that, you can face prison sentences and fines, up to and including the following.

●     two days to six months in jail

●     $400 to $1,000 in fines

●     the suspension of your license for 90 days

A 90-day license suspension is nearly guaranteed for all underage DUI convictions.

Underage DUI – Second Offense

If you’ve already been convicted of a DUI and you’re charged again, your second offense will naturally warrant even harsher consequences. However, you don’t have to be underage in order to obtain the second offense penalties, it just has to be within seven years of your first offense. So, let’s say you’re 20 when you obtain your first DUI. If you obtain another DUI charge when you’re 26, it will be treated as a second offense, even though your first offense occurred when you were underage. Your second offense in Nevada will expose you to the following consequences.

●     10 days to six months in jail

●     $750-$1,000 in fines

●     license suspension for 90 days

Other Possible Consequences

The penalties for drinking and driving under the age of 21 are already stiff in Nevada. However, underage DUI laws in Nevada also open you up to further charges, some criminal, if you engage in other potentially dangerous behavior, as well. For instance, if you gave alcohol to another underage person, endangered a child in some way, had a fake ID card, or solicited alcohol you can open yourself up to further charges.

Insurance-related Consequences

Most insurance companies in Nevada will simply raise your rates after an underage DUI violation. However, some companies will refuse to renew your policy, and still others will terminate your policy immediately. That’s a record that will follow you for years when you try to obtain insurance.

Aside from all of the legal consequences of drinking and driving under the age of 21, you’ll also have to live with the stigma of having been convicted of a DUI. That can hamper you from obtaining employment, purchasing vehicles, and securing affordable insurance, among other things. The underage DUI laws in Nevada are harsh for a good reason, but not every DUI charge is a valid one. If you’ve been charged with an underage DUI in Nevada, it’s important to consult a Nevada DUI attorney right away. Only a qualified lawyer will be able to help you obtain the most beneficial and least damaging outcome possible given your specific situation.


Bookmark This Article:
| del.icio.us: Delicious | Digg: Digg | Technorati: Technorati | Newsvine: Seed this article | Reddit: Add to Reddit | Furl: Add to furl | |
| Stumble Upon: Stumble This Article | Yahoo!: YahooMyWeb | Google: Google |