Illinois Workers Compensation Lawyer

Call (888)351-1275 to speak with a workers compensation attorney.

Job-related injury or disease is covered by workers\\\\\\\' compensation in Illinois. The procedures and circumstances related to workers\\\\\\\' compensation can be complicated, and looking into hiring a lawyer attorney specialized in workers\\\\\\\' compensation law to handle your case can pay multiple dividends.

In Illinois, workers\\\\\\\' compensation is compulsory. It is the employer's responsibility to provide the employee or the employee's family with medical and disability benefits due to a job-related injury or death.

Workers\\\\\\\' compensation is a type of insurance that accommodates employees who need compensation for medical care due to an injury during the course of work in exchange for the employee\\\\\\\'s right to sue their employer for negligence. Plans vary according to jurisdictions, though they can be made for weekly payments instead of wages as a type of disability insurance, compensation for past and future economic losses, the payment or reimbursement of the medical expenses as a type of health insurance, and benefits payable to the dependents of workers who were killed as a type of life insurance. Not included in worker compensation plans are punitive damages for employer negligence and general damages for pain and suffering.

Agricultural employees may be covered by workers\\\\\\\' compensation in the state of Illinois depending on the number of hours worked. Employees that work more than forty hours each week for thirteen weeks or more in one year are covered by the Illinois workers\\\\\\\' compensation act.

In Illinois, workers\\\\\\\' compensation insurance coverage may be provided through a private insurance company or through a state fund. Also, some employers choose to be self-insured.

There is no time or monetary limit regarding medical benefits for those who are entitled to workers\\\\\\\' compensation in Illinois. Initially, the employer is required to provide the care of a physician.

In the state of Illinois, the employer can request the employee to be examined by a qualified medical practitioner or surgeon. This request is made for the purpose of determining the amount of compensation for disability. If this request is made, the expenses of the examination are to be paid for by the employer. If the employee refuses to undergo examination, compensation can be temporarily suspended until the examination has occurred.

Waivers are not permitted, and there are no numerical exceptions, though an exemption of two or less employees is applicable to land, aerial, or water services in connection with loading and unloading. The waiting period for compensation benefits after an injury is three days. Compensation is retroactive if the disability continues for 14 days or more from the date of the injury.

For temporary total disability (TTD) and permanent total disability (PTD), payments are a percentage of the employee's weekly wages and cannot be below the weekly minimum amount or exceed the weekly maximum amount. For TTD, payments continue the entire time that the employee is disabled. For PTD, payments can potentially continue for life. Payments for permanent partial disability (PPD) may last up to 500 weeks. Payments for PPD are a percentage of the employee's weekly wages and cannot exceed the weekly maximum amount.

Permanent and critical disfigurement of the head, neck, arm, chest, or leg may be covered by the Illinois workers\\\\\\\' compensation act.

In the state of Illinois, mental and physical rehabilitation is available to employees who receive workers\\\\\\\' compensation.

If the employee dies, death benefits are given to the employee's spouse or the spouse and his or her children. Death benefits are a percentage of the employee's wages. In Illinois, death benefits are subject to a maximum payment amount. The spouse and children shall receive at least a minimum benefit, regardless of the employee's past earnings. Compensation for burial is usually available.

Attorney fees can be no more than 20 percent by statute.

It\\\\\\\'s important to be comfortable with the attorney you choose, as you are trusting them to alleviate a lot of the stress that is associated with an injury and finances. They focus on getting you your fair share of compensation, while you can focus on your own recovery.

Legal•Info

Legal•Info State Workers Compensation Information

Legal•Info State Resources

Find legal information and lawyers that specialize in Workers Compensation by state: