Kansas Workers Compensation Lawyer

Call (888) 966-9241 to speak with a workers compensation attorney.

Workers in Kansas need not to fear that a job-related injury means loss of time and money. Instead, programs statewide offer medical treatment, disability pay, and vocational rehabilitation as part of the Kansas Department of Labor workers\' compensation plan.

In Kansas, workers\' compensation is compulsory, meaning it is the employer's responsibility to provide the employee or the employee's family with medical and disability benefits due to a job-related injury, occupational disease, or death. However, it is the employee\'s responsibility to report the injury in a timely fashion. In Kansas, the time allotted for an employee to report a claim to an employer is 10 days from the time of the injury.

Employers operating in the state of Kansas are exempt from the Workers\' Compensation Act if their annual payroll is less than $20,000. Agricultural employers are not required to provide workers\' compensation for their employees. In most cases, domestic workers are covered by the Kansas Workers\' Compensation Act.

Workers\' compensation insurance coverage may be provided through a private insurance company or through a Kansas state fund. Also, some employers choose to be self-insured. Either way, employees have the right to workers\' compensation, the agencies providing it are the only things changing.

In the state of Kansas, the employer must deliver the employee or the employee's legal beneficiary a description of the benefits available, the process that must be followed in order to claim those benefits, the identification of those responsible for processing the claim, and any assistance that is available from the director of workers\' compensation. The employer is required to do this immediately after gaining knowledge of the injury.

If the employee's injury resulted from his or her deliberate intention to cause such an injury or from willful failure to protect against such an injury, he or she will not be covered by workers\' compensation in Kansas.

There are no time or monetary limits regarding medical benefits for those who are entitled to workers\' compensation in Kansas. Initially, the employer is required to choose a physician.

For temporary total disability (TTD), permanent total disability (PTD), and permanent partial disability (PPD), payments are a percentage of the employee's weekly wages. In certain circumstances, payments cannot exceed a set weekly maximum amount, and cannot be less than a set weekly minimum amount. Payments for TTD and PTD benefits last as long as the employee is disabled.

In the state of Kansas, physical and mental rehabilitation benefits are usually provided for the injured employee. Also, benefits may be available for deformity resulting from an injury.

If the employee dies as a result of his or her injury, death benefits are given to the employee's spouse or the spouse and his or her children. Death benefits are a percentage of the employee's wages. The spouse and children shall receive at least a minimum benefit, regardless of the employee's past earnings. Compensation for burial is available in Kansas up to $5,000.

By statute, attorney fees cannot exceed 25 percent in the state of Kansas.

If you or someone you know has been injured at work, and you want to learn more about your legal rights, contact a workers\' compensation lawyer attorney today. You can find a workers\' compensation lawyer by visiting the American Bar Association website. The American Bar Association website features a lawyer locator function which allows the user to search

Legal•Info

Legal•Info State Workers Compensation Information

Legal•Info State Resources

Find legal information and lawyers that specialize in Workers Compensation by state: