Arkansas DWI / DUI Lawyer

Call (888) 473-4174 to speak with a DUI attorney.

If you have been charged with DWI (driving while intoxicated) or DUI (driving under the influence) in the state of Arkansas, you will want to seek out an experienced lawyer in the state of Arkansas to defend you. Laws governing DWI and DUI charges change rapidly, and you need the help of a knowledgeable Arkansas attorney to help you through the processes required to argue your case.

You must file a challenge to your case immediately because, in Arkansas, you have seven days to file a challenge, and if you do not file a challenge, you will automatically lose your license, with no contest.

A charge and conviction of a DWI or DUI is an extremely serious matter, and the consequences can affect you for the rest of your life. With a conviction, the penalties can include:

Jail time
Suspension and/or revocation of your driver's license
A significant monetary fine
In the state of Arkansas, the law considers you to be intoxicated if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level is 0.08% or higher. Minors showing a BAC of 0.02% or higher will also be charged with a DUI offense.

For those persons facing an Arkansas DWI charge for the first time, jail time is a possibility. The courts in Arkansas are permitted to sentence one day in jail to a maximum of one year in jail for all first-time offenders. However, in less serious cases as decided by the court, you could replace community service for a jail sentence.

Arkansas DWI Penalties

First DWI offense:

Jail time or community service hours, as decided by the judge
Monetary fines between $150 and $1,000
Also responsible for $300 in court costs

Second and third DWI offenses:

Longer jail times
Steeper fines

Fourth DWI offense

Considered a felony charge
Minimum one year jail time or community service hours
Possible requirement of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, which requires you to breathe into it before you are able to start your vehicle

In the state of Arkansas, if you are charged with a DWI, you will also face consequences from the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration. With a breath test measuring under 0.18%, your driver's license will be revoked for six months. With a qualified expert lawyer licensed in the state of Arkansas, you may be able to get a restricted license, which will enable you to still drive back and forth to work or school.

In the state of Arkansas, as in most states, the mere fact that you are driving or operating a motor vehicle means you have given "implied consent" to testing if you are stopped by a police officer and asked to give a blood, breath, or urine sample to judge the alcohol content in your system. You cannot refuse to take this test without consequences. Your refusal will be considered an admission of guilt in an Arkansas court of law. Also, if you refuse to take a test, your driver's license suspension time will increase, as will any fees you may be responsible for.

Along with the other possible consequences of getting an Arkansas DWI or DUI, you may be expected to attend an alcohol evaluation program. This program has a fee of $50. Your vehicle insurance premiums also stand to greatly increase with a DWI or DUI conviction. Your vehicle insurance carrier could even refuse to grant you any insurance at all.

DUI Defense

An expert lawyer in the state of Arkansas can challenge various aspects of your DWI or DUI case in court. A knowledgeable lawyer will know what questions to ask. For example, your Arkansas lawyer could:

Challenge the reason the police officer stopped your vehicle in the first place. A police officer cannot stop your vehicle without valid reasoning and a belief that a traffic or other violation has been committed. A police officer cannot stop your car because of a tip from an anonymous person who may have called in to report your driving was not adequate.
Challenge any field sobriety tests you were asked to take.
Challenge any blood, breath, or urine tests you were asked to take.
Challenge the maintenance of the equipment use to evaluate your blood alcohol content.

If you find yourself facing a DWI or DUI charge in the state of Arkansas, find and hire an experienced lawyer in the state of Arkansas to plead your case before the Arkansas court system and judge.

Legal•Info

Legal•Info State Dui Dwi Information

Legal•Info State Resources

Find legal information and lawyers that specialize in Dui Dwi by state: