Hawaii DWI / DUI Lawyer
Call (888) 473-4174 to speak with a DUI attorney.
If you live in Hawaii, or are vacationing or visiting there, and you are stopped by the police and arrested on a DWI (driving while intoxicated) or DUI (driving under the influence) charge, you need to find a Hawaii lawyer who is experienced and knowledgeable in the field of DUI laws. DWI and DUI laws change so quickly that you need to make sure you hire an expert Hawaii lawyer to help you present your case to the court system and judge.
You must file a challenge to your DUI charge within 10 days or you will lose your driver's license without a hearing. Contact and hire a Hawaii lawyer experienced in DUI laws to help you with this process.
DWI and DUI laws specific to Hawaii include:
A 0.08% BAC (blood alcohol concentration) level and above is an illegal concentration of alcohol in your system, and you are automatically considered intoxicated by the law;
Zero tolerance limit of 0.02 BAC is designed for drivers under the age of 21. It is illegal for them to have any amount of alcohol in their bodies while driving;
There is an enhanced penalty if the BAC levels are 0.15 or higher;
There is an implied consent law, which means if you are driving, you consent to a blood or breath test if stopped by a police officer. Refusal would mean automatic suspension of your license.
Hawaii DUI laws and procedures in the courtroom need to be addressed by an experienced Hawaii lawyer well-versed in these matters. The State of Hawaii also calls a DUI an OVUII (Operating a Vehicle under the Influence of an Intoxicant). If you are driving and your BAC level is 0.08% or higher, you are considered in violation. However, you can still be arrested on a DUI charge if you are stopped and tested with a resulting BAC level below 0.08.
In Hawaii, as in many other states, a DUI charge brings about two separate cases. The first one is the criminal indictment and the second one originates with the Hawaii Administrative Driver's License Revocation Office. The Hawaii Administrative Drivers License Revocation Office (ADLRO) is most interested in whether your driver's license is going to be suspended or revoked.
The Hawaii DUI criminal charge will be processed through the Hawaii district court. Your license suspension or revocation case is administered strictly through the Hawaii ADLRO. If you do not live in Hawaii but were just vacationing there, and are arrested and convicted on a DUI charge, your license will also be suspended in the state where you live when you return there. Hawaii complies with what is called the Interstate Drivers License compact, so what affects you in Hawaii also affects you in your home state.
In Hawaii, if you are convicted of DWI, DUI or OVUII, you will be handed an immediate suspension of your driver's license for 90 days. If you are employed and can show a need for transportation to work, that time-frame may be reduced to 30 days, but you will only be able to drive back and forth to work for the complete 90 days.
For a first offense, the punishments may include a monetary fine of $150 to $1,000; jail time from two to five days; community service lasting three days; attendance of an educational program; and driver's license revocation of three months.
Second offense penalties may include jail time from five to 14 days (or 240 hours of community service time); a monetary fine between $500 and $1,500; driver's license revocation for one year
Third offense consequences may include jail time between 10 and 30 days; a monetary fine between $500 and $2,500; and driver's license revocation for anywhere from 2 to 5 years
Keep in mind as well that when, and if, your driving privileges are returned to you, your insurance rates will also raise.
If you have a DUI charge pending in the State of Hawaii , you need to secure a Hawaii lawyer who is an expert in the field of DUI law to help you through this process and try to secure the best outcome possible for you.
Legal•Info State Dui Dwi Information
Legal•Info State Resources
Find legal information and lawyers that specialize in Dui Dwi by state:
- Alabama DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Alaska DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Arizona DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Arkansas DWI / DUI Lawyer
- California DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Colorado DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Connecticut DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Delaware DWI / DUI Lawyer
- District of Columbia DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Florida DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Georgia DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Hawaii DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Idaho DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Illinois DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Indiana DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Iowa DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Kansas DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Kentucky DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Louisiana DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Maine DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Maryland DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Massachusetts DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Michigan DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Minnesota DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Mississippi DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Missouri DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Montana DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Nebraska DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Nevada DWI / DUI Lawyer
- New Hampshire DWI / DUI Lawyer
- New Jersey DWI / DUI Lawyer
- New Mexico DWI / DUI Lawyer
- New York DWI / DUI Lawyer
- North Carolina DWI / DUI Lawyer
- North Dakota DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Ohio DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Oklahoma DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Oregon DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Pennsylvania DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Rhode Island DWI / DUI Lawyer
- South Carolina DWI / DUI Lawyer
- South Dakota DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Tennessee DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Texas DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Utah DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Vermont DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Virginia DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Washington DWI / DUI Lawyer
- West Virginia DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Wisconsin DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Wyoming DWI / DUI Lawyer