Texas DWI / DUI Lawyer

Call (888) 351-2835 to speak with a DUI attorney.

No matter which state you are in, DUI and DWI laws are practically the same. Every state has limits pertaining to driving with a certain blood-alcohol content (BAC) and certain punishments for each. The
punishments are harsh, and often involve a long legal process in which you could potentially lose your license or be put in jail. If you believe you are innocent and are being wrongly accused of a DUI or DWI crime, contact a local Texas DUI/DWI lawyer for your case. Texas law gives you ten days to file a challenge to your arrest or you will automatically lose your driver's license, so hiring a lawyer as soon as possible is a definite must.

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) or DUI charges are serious. You need a licensed and knowledgeable lawyer practicing in the State of Texas to help you plead your case before a court. Laws governing DWI and DUI charges are constantly changing and being upgraded. You need a lawyer who knows the laws, rules, regulations, and is up-to-date regarding Texas\\\\\\\' drinking and driving laws. He or she will also have knowledge of similar cases in the area and use them as examples of precedent in your case.

If you were stopped in Texas by a police officer and asked if you had been drinking, you would not incriminate yourself if you said, "Yes, I have had one or two beers," but it would not be wise to do so. One or two beers is not enough for intoxication but Texas law forbids any kind of impairment at all while driving, so ultimately you would probably still be charged with a DUI offense.

Texas law governing BAC tests, breath and blood tests, and/or urine tests states that because you are driving, your consent to such a test is implied. If you refuse to take a BAC test, your driver's license will be confiscated and suspended for 12 months, even if you are not found guilty of the DUI charge. Also, the eventual judge in your case can look at your refusal as evidence of guilt.

In Texas, you have no choice in deciding which test (BAC, breath, or urine) will be administered to you. The police offer has sole discretion to choose and you must comply or lose your driver's license for at least 12 months.

Texas law allows field sobriety tests consisting of the walk and turn test, the eye test, and the one-leg stand test. In Texas, you do not have a right to consult with a lawyer before taking such a test. However, the field sobriety tests are voluntary and you do not have to take them; as a general rule, you should not take them in case of an accidental flawed response or a determination of inebriation.
A knowledgeable Texas lawyer will also know the best methods for your defense and ways of getting the charges against you dropped or lowered.

Other things a qualified Texas lawyer can do to help you win your case against the DUI charge includes making a review of the case for errors or omissions, challenging the results of any tests given, challenging the accuracy of any equipment used to administer the tests, hiring expert witnesses to testify in your defense regarding various matters, and negotiating for a lesser infraction. If you have been charged with a DWI or DUI in Texas , you would be well-advised to hire an expert lawyer to help you sort out your case.

Legal•Info

Legal•Info State Dui Dwi Information

Legal•Info State Resources

Find legal information and lawyers that specialize in Dui Dwi by state: