Maine DWI / DUI Lawyer

Call (888) 473-4174 to speak with a DUI attorney.

In 2006, drunk driving accidents accounted for 37 percent of all traffic accidents. Of all of the accidents that year, 27 percent of the drivers had a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or higher. Every state in the U.S. now says that driving with a BAC of .08 or higher is illegal, and will result in a drunk driving charge. If you have recently been arrested for a DUI in Maine, you will need to hire a lawyer or attorney from your state who is knowledgeable of the Maine DUI laws. He or she can help you navigate your way through the legal policies and procedures that are soon to come.

In Maine, the DUI is known as an OUI (operating under the influence) or OWI (operating while intoxicated). This variation in terminology is just another reason why you need an experienced Maine lawyer assisting in your defense against this charge. An OUI charge is a serious offense. Penalties have become harsher over the years as lawmakers and officials recognize the importance of trying to reduce and eliminate DWI and DUI incidents in this country. The consequences of a conviction can be damaging to your future; if you are convicted or plead guilty, there will be a permanent mark on your criminal record.

If you have recently been arrested for an OUI, OWI or DUI in Maine, you should expect to receive a Notice of Suspension from the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles in two to three weeks. To protect your driving privileges, you will need to file a challenge, also known as an appeal, to your OUI charge immediately. You only have 10 days to file the appeal or you will automatically lose your driver's license without the benefit of a hearing.

Also remember that when you get your driver's license returned to you, your vehicle insurance premiums are almost guaranteed to increase. In the state of Maine, you will also have to obtain an SR-22 insurance policy for three years and/or you will have to use an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. An ignition interlock device is attached to your steering wheel, and you will have to breathe into it to assure sobriety every time you want to start your vehicle.

After you are arrested for OUI in Maine, you will have to undergo two separate proceedings. The first is a criminal proceeding for the drunk driving charge, and is handled within a court setting. The second is a civil proceeding regarding your license (as mentioned above), done through the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles.

When you hire a Maine lawyer to help in your defense, he or she will take a close look at all the paperwork associated with your OUI case. Your knowledgeable Maine lawyer will look for possible ways to win your OUI case or get the charge lessened. Some of the items your Maine lawyer could question include:

Challenge the reason the police officer stopped your vehicle in the first place. A police officer cannot randomly stop a vehicle without a reasonable cause.
Challenge the validity of any blood, breath, or urine tests taken at the scene. Were they administered by someone who was qualified and trained to oversee the test and their results?
Challenge the equipment itself. Has it been properly maintained? When was the equipment last serviced?

Tough laws need tough lawyers, and only qualified and knowledgeable DUI and DWI lawyers can give you the necessary assistance, advice and defense when you are charged with drunk driving in Maine. Hiring a lawyer with a substantial amount of quality trial expertise, especially with drunk driving cases, is the best route to go during this critical time. If you have an OUI charge pending against you in Maine, you desperately need to find and hire a licensed and knowledgeable lawyer to help in your defense.

Legal•Info

Legal•Info State Dui Dwi Information

Legal•Info State Resources

Find legal information and lawyers that specialize in Dui Dwi by state: