North Carolina DWI / DUI Lawyer
Call (888) 473-4174 to speak with a DUI attorney.
Long ago, fines for drunk-driving convictions were as low as $50 and they never exceeded $150. Moreover, if convicted of drinking and driving, suspension of your license never even came up. Penalties were limited to attending court proceedings, paying the fines, and being reprimanded by the judge. Over time, we have come to realize just how dangerous driving under the influence can be, and how serious the results are. Now, North Carolina has some of the harshest DUI and DWI laws in the country.
The Department of Transportation's campaign against drunk driving in North Carolina, called "Booze It and Lose It," typifies the toughness of North Carolina authorities against drunk-driving. If you find yourself in a situation where you are facing DUI or DWI charges, it is an excellent idea to retain the services of a North Carolina DUI/DWI lawyer as soon as possible. Do not get just any lawyer; you need someone on your side who is an expert in this field and can provide you with the necessary help and defense you require.
North Carolina Law
North Carolina DUI and DWI law do not depend on sobriety tests. The prosecutor will try to establish evidence against you by verifying substantial impairment through your driving records, physical appearance, field sobriety testing results, and the chemical exams that were completed at the time of your arrest. Luckily, roadside tests like breathing tests are not enough to convince court for an arraignment, because such tests have been repeatedly proven inaccurate; however, the evidence can still be entered into the court records. While offenders are not supposed to be arrested for drunk-driving based on roadside tests, as it is not enough to be used to prove driving impairment or infraction of the law in itself, this discrepancy may afford the chance for being accused unfairly.
Like many states, North Carolina DWI law includes both a traditional driving while impaired charge, and a per se charge. A per se charge occurs when you are found to have a BAC of .08, which is considered illegal to have while driving, in every state. Typically, when someone is arrested for DUI or a related drunk driving charge, the driver will be charged with both counts.
Should you be unfortunate enough to have a drunk driving conviction in another state and you are caught in the same situation again, you can have your vehicle confiscated under North Carolina laws.
North Carolina DWI/DUI Lawyers
Tough laws need tough lawyers, and only qualified and knowledgeable DUI and DWI lawyers can give you the necessary assistance, advice and defense when you are charged with drunk driving in North Carolina. Hiring a lawyer with a substantial amount of quality trial expertise, especially with drunk driving cases, is the best route to take during this critical time.
Drunk driving has serious consequences. A conviction can suspend your license for a significant period of time. If convicted of drunk driving, you will have an ensuing criminal record that can remain with you for the rest of your life, everywhere you go. A criminal record can result in many difficulties, such as employment problems, insurance issues, and credit troubles.
For these to be eliminated, or at least lessened, getting a reputable lawyer with impeccable credentials should be your number one priority. Choose one who is able to provide a skillful defense, and who knows the inner workings of the legal system, with respect to DUI laws. It is worth taking time to choose the right lawyer; he or she could get you acquitted of all charges or, at the very least, help reduce the your sentence.
Legal•Info State Dui Dwi Information
Legal•Info State Resources
Find legal information and lawyers that specialize in Dui Dwi by state:
- Alabama DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Alaska DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Arizona DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Arkansas DWI / DUI Lawyer
- California DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Colorado DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Connecticut DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Delaware DWI / DUI Lawyer
- District of Columbia DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Florida DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Georgia DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Hawaii DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Idaho DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Illinois DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Indiana DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Iowa DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Kansas DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Kentucky DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Louisiana DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Maine DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Maryland DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Massachusetts DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Michigan DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Minnesota DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Mississippi DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Missouri DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Montana DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Nebraska DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Nevada DWI / DUI Lawyer
- New Hampshire DWI / DUI Lawyer
- New Jersey DWI / DUI Lawyer
- New Mexico DWI / DUI Lawyer
- New York DWI / DUI Lawyer
- North Carolina DWI / DUI Lawyer
- North Dakota DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Ohio DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Oklahoma DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Oregon DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Pennsylvania DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Rhode Island DWI / DUI Lawyer
- South Carolina DWI / DUI Lawyer
- South Dakota DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Tennessee DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Texas DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Utah DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Vermont DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Virginia DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Washington DWI / DUI Lawyer
- West Virginia DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Wisconsin DWI / DUI Lawyer
- Wyoming DWI / DUI Lawyer