Tennessee DWI / DUI Lawyer

Call (888) 473-4174 to speak with a DUI attorney.

The state of Tennessee believes that drunk driving is no laughing matter. Statistics show that in 2006, 37 percent of all traffic accidents were alcohol-related. So when you choose to drive under the influence of alcohol, you are not only placing your own life in jeopardy, but also endangering the lives of the others on the road. Since serious consequences can occur, the state of Tennessee created laws addressing DUI and DWI related crimes. Repercussions include the loss of freedom through the revocation of your license, as well as time spent in jail.

A DUI and DWI crime can be described as a crime to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of or above .08. Under the legal drinking age of 21, there is a zero tolerance BAC level of 0.02%. In Tennessee, if a DUI offender has a particularly high BAC, the penalties become much harsher. More specifically, if the offender was caught with a BAC of .20 or higher, the penalty standards will most likely include additional jail time, heavier fines, and a longer driver\'s license revocation. This kind of a conviction will follow you around for the rest of your life, and no matter how small an infraction you make, the fines and penalties will often be based on the fact that you were convicted of a DUI.

For your first offense on a DUI or DWI charge, expect to spend at least 48 hours in jail. You will have to pay up to $1500 in fines, and you will lose your license for up to one year. Subsequent offenses are far more serious, and should you refuse to undergo chemical testing, you automatically lose your license for one year. Occasionally, a DUI prevention program will be required of you to ensure that you do not suffer from a drug and alcohol dependency problem. Repeat DUI offenders, typically the second offense, can also expect to have their vehicle confiscated either permanently or for short period of time, in hopes of reducing the chance of another offense. In addition, sometimes an ignition interlock is place in the offenders vehicle. Ignition interlock measures the drivers BAC and will prevent them from driving with even a a minimal BAC level (0.02), all at the cost of the offender. Such conditions are part of Tennessee\'s harsh restrictions to those who drive under the influence.

Should you find yourself in a predicament where you are arrested because of suspicion of driving under the influence or while intoxicated, you should get in touch with a Tennessee DWI or DUI lawyer as soon as you can. Everyone makes mistakes, but do not make another mistake by waiting too long to contact an attorney right away. As you have read, the penalties are unforgiving and harsh for those who drive under the influence, therefore it is essential that you start to fix your wrongdoings immediately.

When you look for a Tennessee DUI or DWI lawyer that can help you with your DUI case, consider the following characteristics. Your lawyer should have prior experience in DUI law, since it is very complex to navigate. Additionally, select an attorney that is committed to your case and has your best interests in mind. Lastly, an open channel of communication is imperative, especially when the criminal justice system is a very scary and unknown territory. In fact, DUI is the most common criminal charge of typically law-abiding people. Unfortunately, the fun went just a little too far, and now is the time to hire an attorney that will fight for the best possible outcome. If you are facing DUI or DWI charges, consult a Tennessee DUI/DWI attorney right away for the best possible defense.

Legal•Info

Legal•Info State Dui Dwi Information

Legal•Info State Resources

Find legal information and lawyers that specialize in Dui Dwi by state: