Iowa DWI / DUI Lawyer

Call (888) 351-2835 to speak with a DUI attorney.

According to Iowa\\\'s DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs) or OWI (operating while intoxicated) laws, it is illegal to operate a vehicle in the state of Iowa while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, while having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher, or having any amount of a controlled substance in one\\\'s bloodstream. A law enforcement officer suspecting you of OWI or DUI may test your blood, breath, and/or urine to determine BAC or the presence of drugs in your body, in connection with Iowa\\\'s implied consent law. A prosecutor for the state of Iowa must be able to prove these elements beyond a reasonable doubt.

In the event that you are cited with OWI in Iowa as the result of meeting with a law enforcement officer while stopped for a traffic infraction, as the result of a motor vehicle accident, at a sobriety checkpoint, or any number of other scenarios, it is highly recommended that you seek the assistance of an attorney who is well-versed in Iowa OWI/DUI law.

An OWI or DUI citation is a serious offense. The laws surrounding OWI are complicated, ever-evolving, and becoming increasingly stringent. The consequences of an OWI charge and/or conviction can have negative long-term effects on your driving record, as well as potentially on your quality of life.

Upon your first offense, it is possible for you to lose your driver\\\'s license. In addition, following penalties and consequences can be as severe, or more so. A lawyer experienced with Iowa OWI law can help you navigate through your charges and the challenges an OWI charge can present you with.

The penalties associated with an initial OWI charge can include license revocation, community service, imprisonment, heavy fines, participation in an alcohol education program, and a misdemeanor charge. If an individual\\\'s BAC was .08 and he or she did not have any OWI offenses in the previous 12 years, he or she may be able to apply for a temporary restricted license upon first offense. If the BAC registered as .15, the person must wait 30 days from the date upon which the sanction was effective. If the BAC was greater than .10 or an accident occurred, an individual must install an ignition interlock device. With subsequent OWI offenses, the penalties will become more severe.

There are special requirements and consequences for drivers who are under the age of 21 and cited with an OWI, or who are driving with a revoked license and receives an OWI citation. The restrictions on these individuals are typically more severe than other OWI citations. Vehicles may be impounded immediately upon arrest if a person is arrested for his or her second or subsequent OWI, or are driving while their license is revoked for an OWI. Vehicles will be impounded for at least 180 days or until license revocation is over.

In the state of Iowa, as in most other states, a DUI charge is a two-fold offense: Not only do you have to answer to a judge and the court system, you always have to answer to the Department of Motor Vehicles. This is called an administrative case and concerns suspension or revocation of your driver's license, in addition to any penalties determined by the court for the criminal portion of your DUI charge.

The state of Iowa takes OWI and DUI seriously. The laws and penalties surrounding these offenses are strict and can be complicated. An attorney well-versed in Iowa OWI law should be able to guide you through the process should you find yourself with an OWI citation.

Legal•Info

Legal•Info State Dui Dwi Information

Legal•Info State Resources

Find legal information and lawyers that specialize in Dui Dwi by state: