Idaho DWI / DUI Lawyer

Call (888) 473-4174 to speak with a DUI attorney.

If you live in Idaho, were vacationing or visiting in Idaho, or just passing through on a journey elsewhere and were stopped and arrested on a DWI or DUI charge, you need to act quickly to find and hire an Idaho lawyer experienced in DUI laws and procedures.

In the state of Idaho, you only have seven days to file a challenge to your case, or you will lose your driver's license without a hearing. You need to request an administrative hearing from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). If you do not, you stand to lose your license for a minimum of 30 days. You need to find an Idaho lawyer who is well-versed in the DUI laws of that state. DWI and DUI laws are complex, and can be difficult to maneuver through without the aid of an experienced Idaho lawyer. Laws regarding DWI and DUI charges are constantly changing. You need an expert lawyer licensed in Idaho and experienced in handling these types of cases.

In Idaho, a DUI charge is considered relevant if you have been found driving or operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of 0.08% or higher. In the state of Idaho, this is usually determined with a breathalyzer test. If you refuse to take this test, your license will automatically be confiscated by the attending police officer and could be suspended for six months. If you fail the breathalyzer test, your driver's license will be taken and you will be arrested.

In the State of Idaho, a DUI charge is seen as two separate charges. You will have to attend a criminal hearing and a hearing held before the Idaho Transportation Department. If you are convicted of the DUI criminal charge, you can face jail time, a monetary fine, and temporary loss of your driving privileges. If convicted before the Idaho Transportation Department, they could add time to your driver's license suspension. A DWI or DUI charge is actually treated as two offenses in one.

The possibilities for sentencing in a first arrest of DWI or DUI in Idaho may include jail time of 48 hours to six months; driver's license suspension for six months with an additional month of extra
restrictions; attendance at an alcohol evaluation program; attendance at a DUI victim's panel; probation time of one to two years; and fines up to $1,000.

Second offense punishments may include jail time of between 10 days and one year; driver's license suspension for one year; attendance at an alcohol evaluation program; treatment recommended at the alcohol evaluation program; ignition interlock device mandatory on vehicle; probation time of two years; and fines up to $2,000.

If you are convicted of a DUI or DWI for a third time, you may face felony charges; jail time between 30 days and five years; driver's license suspension between one and five years; supervised probation; fines up to $5,000.

The State of Idaho does have some special opportunities for DWI or DUI repeat offenders and first-time offenders with a higher-than-average BAC level. The State of Idaho offers a program called " DUI Court." This is a plan designed and intended to teach people about the dangers of drunk-driving. By attending this class, you can reduce your jail time by working in the Sheriff's Department's labor program for two days. You must also attend an Alcoholic Anonymous meeting and other stipulations that are required by the Idaho court system.

Your lawyer might can help you by challenging the reason why the police officer stopped your vehicle in the first place. A police officer must have a valid reason for initially pulling your vehicle over. Your lawyer can also challenge the accuracy of the breath test, the maintenance of the testing equipment to see if it was working properly at the time the test was administered to you, and the ability or proper training of the officer or personnel who administered the breath test. If your Miranda rights were properly read to you at the time, this entitles you to further privileges.

Legal•Info

Legal•Info State Dui Dwi Information

Legal•Info State Resources

Find legal information and lawyers that specialize in Dui Dwi by state: