Illinois DWI / DUI Lawyer

Call (888) 473-4174 to speak with a DUI attorney.

Driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while intoxicated from alcohol or drugs (DWI) are very serious crimes and can carry stiff penalties. The laws surrounding DUI and DWI are constantly changing – and becoming more strict. In the event that you are cited with DUI or DWI, it is highly recommended that you seek the professional advice of an attorney licensed to practice in the state of Illinois who is well-versed in DUI and DWI law.

If caught with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher, you can be arrested and charged with DUI and will automatically face the suspension of your driver\'s license. You may be handcuffed, booked, fingerprinted, and put in jail. In addition to facing jail, if you are charged with a DUI, it will permanently be on your driving record and can potentially cost up to $9,000 when bail, fines, attorney fees, court costs, insurance premiums, and alcohol education programs are factored in.

An arrest and conviction for a DUI offense in the state of Illinois will result in two different actions being taken against you. The first is for the criminal charge resulting from a DUI violation; the other involves what is called an administrative charge. The Illinois Department of Motor Vehicles will automatically suspend your driver\'s license for a set period of time and then, if appropriate, it will be reinstated.

In the State of Illinois, first-time offenders may be able to apply to the court for a Judicial Driving Permit (JDP), which can possibly allow you to drive during your suspension with certain restrictions.

First Conviction
Possible one-year jail time
Driver's license revocation for one year
Maximum fine reaching $2,500

Second Conviction
If second offense occurs within a 20-year time frame, loss of driver's license for a
minimum of five years
If second offense occurs within a five-year time frame, jail time of five days or 30 days of
community service work
Jail time possible of up to one year

Third Conviction
Will be considered a Class 4 felony
Revocation of driver's license for six years
Jail time of up to three years
Maximum fines reaching $10,000

A lawyer who is familiar with Illinois DUI law will be able to examine the details of your DUI charge and look for ways to challenge your arrest, in order to have the DUI charge dropped or reduced. You experienced Illinois DUI lawyer may:

Challenge the reason why the police officer stopped your vehicle. Your vehicle cannot be stopped unless the officer has a reasonable belief that a law has been broken.
Challenge the accuracy of any field sobriety tests that may have been given to you at the time.
Challenge the accuracy of a breath or blood test that was administered to you. The equipment used could be faulty and/or not well-maintained or serviced. The person managing the testing procedure may not have been qualified or trained to do so.

If you are cited with DUI, it will be extremely advantageous to find a lawyer who is licensed in Illinois and is very familiar with Illinois\'s DUI laws.

Legal•Info

Legal•Info State Dui Dwi Information

Legal•Info State Resources

Find legal information and lawyers that specialize in Dui Dwi by state: