Arizona DWI / DUI Lawyer

Call (888) 473-4174 to speak with a DUI attorney.

Drunk driving is a serious offense, one not taken lightly by the court or law enforcement officers. Throughout the United States, someone is killed by a drunk driving accident an average of every 40 minutes. If you have recently been arrested or cited in Arizona on a DUI or DWI charge, you need to find a lawyer to represent you as soon as possible. Understanding DUI laws and courtroom proceedings can be a challenge. Hiring a qualified attorney or lawyer who specializes in DUI defense can make a significant difference in the outcome of your case. You need a licensed and knowledgeable lawyer from Arizona to help you plead your case before a court.

In Arizona, persons arrested or cited for DUI will most likely face two common charges: the first is a charge for driving while impaired, and the second involves driving with an alcohol content of 0.08 or higher. Offenders are commonly charged with both. The first charge is a criminal case, while the second charge is usually handled through the Department of Motor Vehicles. Following your arrest, your license will be taken and automatically suspended or revoked for a period of 90 days to two years, depending on the number of priors. Arizona law gives you ten days to file a challenge to your arrest, or you will automatically lose your driver's license for good.

Arizona law governing blood alcohol concentration (BAC) tests, breath tests, and/or urine tests states that as a driver with a valid license, you have consented to such a test; this is known as implied consent. In Arizona, you have no choice in deciding which test (BAC, breath, or urine) will be administered to you. The police officer has sole discretion to choose which test to administer. If you refuse to take a BAC test, your driver's license will be confiscated and suspended for 12 months, even if you are not found guilty of the DUI charge. Also, the eventual judge in your case can look at your refusal as evidence of guilt.

Arizona law allows field sobriety tests consisting of the walk and turn test, the eye test, and the one-leg stand test. In Arizona, you do not have a right to consult with a lawyer before taking such a test. However, the field sobriety tests are voluntary and you do not have to take them; as a general rule, you should not take them in case of an accidental flawed response or a determination of inebriation.

A knowledgeable Arizona lawyer will also know the best methods for your defense and ways of getting the charges against you dropped or lowered. Other practices a qualified Arizona lawyer can do to help you win your case against the DUI charge include:

Review the case for errors or omissions
Challenge the results of any tests given
Challenge the accuracy of any equipment used to administer the tests
Suppress evidence as circumstances warrant
Hire expert witnesses to testify in your defense regarding various matters
Have the blood samples independently tested and audited by a source other than the agency the police used
Negotiate for a lesser infraction

If you have been charged with a DWI or DUI in Arizona, you should consider hiring an expert lawyer to help you sort out your case. Laws governing DWI and DUI charges are constantly changing and being upgraded, so having a lawyer or attorney who knows the laws, rules, regulations, and is up-to-date regarding Arizona's laws will have an impact on your case. A knowledgeable lawyer can answer your questions and help get you through this difficult process.


Legal•Info State Dui Dwi Information

Legal•Info State Resources

Find legal information and lawyers that specialize in Dui Dwi by state: