Nevada DWI / DUI Lawyer

Call (888) 473-4174 to speak with a DUI attorney.

Each state in the U.S. has its unique drunk driving laws. First and second DWI/DUI offenses are considered misdemeanors under Nevada state law. However, the third offense is considered to be a Class B felony. Should you be convicted of a drinking and driving offense in the state of Nevada , expect to spend at least two days in jail or time doing community service. Your fines can range from $340 to more than $1,000, and you lose your license for at least ninety days.

With this kind of conviction, you must complete a substance abuse program or an eight hour DUI driving school program. You may have to attend a Victim's Panel on drunk driving, and if the judge decides it is necessary, you may have to have an ignition interlock device installed on your car for up to six months. You can be convicted of DUI or DWI offenses in this state if your blood alcohol level is .08 percent or more. If you are under the age of 21 and have a blood alcohol level of .02 or higher, you can be convicted under the Zero Tolerance laws of Nevada.

However, for DUI and DWI offenders, your life, too, is at stake. Once you are convicted, you have a criminal record that follows you. Employers are able to view it as well landlords and credit bureaus. Not only are you subject to fines and other penalties, but serious DWI/DUI convictions can limit your career and educational opportunities for the future. You want to be sure you are knowledgeable on your rights as a citizen and that you set up consultation meetings with the best lawyers available to handle your specific case.

When you begin the lawyer hunting process, be sure to look for three things. First, look for someone who is experienced within this field of law. You need someone who is aware of the changing statues and precedents so that you truly have a fighting chance. Second, make sure that the lawyer you hire also has a good record of achieving results in these types of cases. Finally, find a lawyer you can afford. You want to ask about the retainer fee for taking the case as well as the total payments that are required. You may also want to ask about payment plans to help you pay for the services on your budget.

Initially, a lawyer assesses you case and notes all details of the experience, including initial contact with the arresting officer, field sobriety tests administered, and your emotional status. Your lawyer must also gather your personal information, from health records to details from your arrest. While it may seem frivolous to ask such questions, the information gathered is imperative to the success of your hearing. When handling DWI/DUI cases, prosecutors must prove that your impairment was compromised due to alcohol or other related substances. It is the job of your attorney to argue the opposite. Perhaps, blood related illnesses or physical handicaps prevented you from passing breathalyzer tests. Maybe a sobriety instrument used had a history of malfunctioning. The arresting officer may have had unjust reasons for stopping you in the first place. In order for your lawyer to build a sensible argument, it is imperative to describe all events as accurately as possible. Once information is provided, lawyers have experience necessary to take further action.

Your license, freedom, and many aspects of your life depend on the outcome of your case. While being convicted of such a crime is a serious matter, it should not be one to deal with alone. Contact one of the many Nevada DWI/DUI attorneys today to ensure your rights are upheld.


Legal•Info State Dui Dwi Information

Legal•Info State Resources

Find legal information and lawyers that specialize in Dui Dwi by state: